“I’d like to thank my mama, my papa and my agent…”

So, I’ve been nominated for a Liebster Award by one lovely Muggle In Converse, a fascinating woman with one of the finest quote repositories I’ve ever seen. Apparently, there are several things I have to do to truly accept the Liebster. Here goes… (Warning – it’s a long post.)

~

Step One: Thank the Liebster-winning blogger who nominated you.

f49fbf91e3c2ca5218cf5cf269450836Thank you again.  (Readers, go forth and visit her. It’s unlikely you’ll be disappointed.)

~

Step Two: Post 11 facts about yourself.

Uh, I’m not sure I can think of five interesting facts about myself, never mind eleven…

1. I’m right-handed.

2. However, I apparently eat left-handed.

3. There is a rumour amongst my friends that I have read the dictionary. (This is wrong. I began to read it once, when ridiculously bored, and only got to C before being called away to do something else.)

4. I write all my posted stories longhand in my journal first, and pride myself on not using spel checka.

5. I’m an insulin-reliant diabetic, and have been for several years.

6. I love mythology of all kinds, and have several memorised stories tucked away from the Norse and Greek/Roman canon.

7. Web design has been a longtime hobby of mine – I’m proficient in HTML and handy enough to make a go of it in CSS.

8. I have a different accent from my extended family and my friends.

9. I have only ever had two haircuts in my life, and both were for convenience’s sake.

10. I talk too much about myself in person, but am very awkward when writing about myself. I have never kept a diary about my everyday life – I think it’d be boring.

11. I enjoy rowing.

~

Step Three: Answer the 11 Questions your nominee asked you.

1. What book/show do you think everyone should read/watch?

Oh, this is a hard one. I’d probably say Doctor Who, actually – silly and rubber-monster-y as it ostensibly is, it has a fabulous message about the power of friendship, intelligence and hope.

2. Is there anything you would change about your life? If so, what?

I would make myself non-diabetic – life would become a lot easier.

3. What is your favorite food/drink?

As for drink, Diet Irn Bru. It has seen me through many a hard and tiring year.

4. Are you religious?

Nope. I haven’t believed in God since I was about six, but I’ve never had a name for it – I’ve only recently come to realise that I’m a humanist.

5. If you could only choose one vacation spot for the rest of your life, where would it be?

I honestly couldn’t choose.

6. If you could go into space, would you?

Yes, in a heartbeat. I’d want to see it all – I love exploring new places, and that includes off-world places. Unfortunately, I don’t think space travel will happen in my lifetime or even the next generation’s, and it’s a thought that saddens me.

7. If you were reincarnated after you die, would you want to retain your memories of this life?

Oh, this is so difficult. On the one hand, at this point in time, yes. There’s so much I’ve learned and done that I love, and so many people worthy of remembering. On the other, a clean slate kind of appeals. All that new, unharnessed potential…

I think I’d leave my memories and give my new self a chance, rather than making her/him/it be an extension of me – see what happened.

8. Do you consider yourself a writer?

No, I don’t. That probably sounds odd, considering the… (checks screen) seventy-four stories and chapters on this blog, but I don’t yet think I’m good enough to publish, and I don’t do this professionally. I try very hard not to be pretentious about my writing and not to force it on anyone, and I’m actually quite shy about it. So, I suppose I consider myself a writer – in the sense that I write – but not a Writer, and I certainly couldn’t call myself an author.

9. Do you believe in ghosts?

I try to keep an open mind about things, but no, I don’t, because I’ve seen no convincing evidence of paranormal activity. However, I do believe in aliens – though I believe the Universe is too big for us to ever meet them – because, with the size of everything out there and the similar planets we’ve discovered so far, it seems very statistically unlikely that we’re the only instance of advanced life.

10. I love quotes. What is one of your favorites?

Me too… so this is very, very hard. It’d probably be Nietzche’s old chestnut: “Battle not with monsters, lest ye become a monster, and if you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you.” I just find it such a fascinating concept, even if I’m not sure how much I believe it. That, or – despite the fact that I’m still unsure what my opinion is on The Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald’s assertion that “personality is a series of unbroken gestures.” It seems, somehow, so true.

11. Do you have any comments about my blog you would like to make?

It’s a fine blog. The entries are written with common sense and, most importantly, compassion, and make me look at things in new and interesting ways.

~

Step Four: Create 11 questions for your nominees.

I can do that. (*Puts interviewing hat on*)

1. When did you start blogging?

2. Why did you start blogging?

3. Do you think blogging has had any significant impact on your life?

4. What usually inspires you enough to make you sit down and blog?

5. What is your most prized possession?

6. Desert Island Discs. If you could take five books/records/games/comics to a desert island, what would they be?

7. What qualities do you think make a good blog?

8.  Do you have any people that inspire you? If so, who?

9. What’s your dream job?

10. Do you have a hobby?

11. What’s the best film you’ve ever seen?

~

Step Five: Nominate 11 blogs (doesn’t have to be eleven) that you feel deserve recognition. These blogs should have less than 200 followers to the best of your knowledge.

I’m still very new to this whole blogging thing, so I can only give two under those criteria. However, they’re two good’uns.

+ Michale Failyn’s blog. Michale is a cordial and literate teen writer who obviously puts effort into studying her craft.

 + XandurSE’s blog. He’s a man who obviously knows and loves his games, and seems a very personable chap. I hope he keeps posting, as I always enjoy his reviews and tidbits.

I’m determined to find some more fiction blogs, I just need to keep looking. For now, these are my nominees.

~

Step Six: Display the award badge on your blog.

I wear my heart on my sleeve and my Liebster Award badge proudly on my blog.

moddedliebster

Leave a Reply

