NaNoWriMo: Retrospective

image

This is not actually what the sky looks like. It's pitch black right now, because it's midnight. But it is a nice picture I took, so have a nice picture. A sunset seems, er, symbolic?

So…

It’s about to turn midnight. I have had to throw in the towel at a fairly respectable 40,750 words. Illness has made me a little behind, but frankly, I’m astonished at how far I got.

When I started NaNoWriMo, I had the feeling that it would be a phase, a flash in the plan. I figured that I would reach about 20K, at best, then give up and wander off to do something else. I love writing and I do it every day, but I was certain I wouldn’t be able to do close to the amount I have.

Though I haven’t hit 50K, I’m still embarrassingly happy. This experience has taught me how to discipline myself so that I can just sit down and write. It’s provided me with a really fun community. It’s taught me how to construct a story and keep its momentum. Most of all, it’s increased my faith in myself – and my writing. It’s got me ready to sit down and graft, to practise and approach it as a craft. (Ooh, that rhymed. I’m a poet and I just don’t know it?)

I think I’ll do NaNoWriMo next year, and I think I have a good chance of winning it with what I’ve learned. Thank you, NaNoWriMo. It’s been fun. Here’s to 40K, and to 2015!

Also, for those of you who are wondering, Light As Air is nowhere near finished, and I’m certainly not abandoning it now that November is over. It will find its way onto Strange Digestives in one form or another. Look for the adventures of a bookseller and his angel very soon!

Leave a Reply

